States will lose 10 percent of the federal Byrne Justice Assistance Grant if they are not in compliance by July 27, SORNA requires juveniles at least 14 years of age adjudicated delinquent for a crime comparable to or more severe than an aggravated sexual abuse crime as defined in federal law to register as sex offenders. When comparing current juvenile sex offender registry laws with what is required under the Act, at least 37 states have statutory law requiring sex offender registration of some juveniles adjudicated delinquent for qualifying offenses. Among these states, approximately ten require registration if the juvenile is determined to have committed a specified sex offense, generally including violent sex offenses, sex offenses against children, and kidnapping. In at least 27 states and one territory, sex offender registration law requires that juvenile adjudicated delinquent must register if they commit a sex offense for which an adult in the same jurisdiction would be required to register. Ten other states Arizona, Indiana, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin give courts discretion to weigh fact-specific circumstances to determine whether registration will be required of an adjudicated juvenile.
Alabama becomes seventh state to approve castration for some sex offenses
Alabama governor signs law mandating castration for some sex offenders
An Alabama state representative has introduced a bill to require surgical castration of adult sex offenders who target children. The punishment would apply to both male and female offenders who at the age of 21 or older sexually victimized children age 12 or younger. This isn't the first time Hurst has tried to pass this legislation. In , he proposed a similar bill, which failed. Before being released from prison following punishment for their second offense, California requires child molesters who have harmed kids under the age of 13 to be treated with depot medroxyprogesterone acetate, a female birth control drug sold under the brand name Depo-Provera that also reduces male sexual function.
Alabama’s Youthful Offender Act and how it can help you
In the United States, age of consent laws regarding sexual activity are made at the state level. There are several federal statutes related to protecting minors from sexual predators, but laws regarding specific age requirements for sexual consent are left to individual states , District of Columbia , and territories. Depending on the jurisdiction, the legal age of consent is between 16 and
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.